Proposal: Remember When We Thought That Was Fun?

I would like to explore the idea of “fun” through the use of portraits and collages. I was thinking about how my idea of a good time has changed since I was a child. When I was in elementary school, I loved to swing on our swing set for hours–I didn’t need to listen to music or play games while I did it, the swinging was enough. When I was in middle school, I started using technology more. My favorite thing to do was play games on the computer. In high school, I just liked to hang out with my friends. There was nothing greater than throwing a movie into the VCR (later the DvD player) and then ignoring it while we all talked on the couch. In early college, I watched as my friends went to the bars and clubs, but my closest friend and I preferred to go to coffee shops and read our poetry (I’m mortified just admitting that). Now, I enjoy a hybrid of going home and being out. I like going to the archery range but I also like to be home with a good book.

I would like to take portraits which show what a person does for fun (a musician would hold their instrument, a biker would be in their riding gear, a bookworm would be smothered in a pile of books) and then I would like to put that portrait on top of a collage that was taken by the subject. I would the subject to take photos (with the cell phones, their digital cameras, a disposable camera) of what they thought was fun at ages 10, 13, 15, 18, 21 (if they are old enough to) and whatever their current age is.

My goal is to show the change and influence of our hobbies over time.

About Jessica M Tuckerman, MA

I prefer to write for the YA and middle grade audiences. When I'm not writing I'm curled up with a good book and two good dogs. BA in Writing Arts: Creative Writing, New Media Writing and Publication; New Media Production MA in Writing

One comment

  1. Hi Jessica,

    I really like this idea. (Don’t worry, I won’t tweet or tell the whole class or all of Intro about your coffee shop poetry reading days… 🙂 I wonder if there is a way to replicate what the photos would have looked like if they were taken when the subjects were of the age having fun. The film types and color saturation levels. Or, if you have older cameras, use those.

    Perhaps you can ask them to tell you the thing that was their most fun at different ages and take photos of them NOW doing that very thing as well as their current idea, then create diptychs. Then and now, but the same person. So, if you were the subject, one would be of you on the swing in the playground, the other with bow in hand.

    I’m thinking this because it might be too time consuming for your friends to go and take all those photos at this time of the semester and even more time consuming for you to put together the collage.

    Looking forward to seeing what you do!

    Thanks,
    BW

Leave a Reply

