Proposal: The Distance Between Us

I choose option one for my photo essay, in recording my own series of photos.  I want to look at the physical distance between people as they communicate, from complete strangers to close friends.  I want to capture the body language that we use every day subconsciously, to show how our feelings change our body language.

To do this, I will attend at least one open, public event, like a comedy show or band event.  The people at this location will not feel an obligation to look in a specific direction, like at a performer, as that will effect the way that they stand with each other.  I will photograph all types of people as they go about their regular social activities (hopefully without looking like a creep).  I only want to attend one event because the people there will have a specific interest, say, as one larger social group, and I will not need to worry about standing distances across cultures.

I want to do this project partly out of curiosity and also because I am interested if I do the same things as everyone else.  Or, if there is a significant pattern in the way that a majority of people with the same types of feelings stand with each other.  In particular, how people in love act around each other and their relationship status.

I will use a regular digital camera so that I do not draw attention to myself, perhaps muddling with the clarity of the photo to emphasize the status of the relationship in the photo.  That is, the people in focus will also be in focus, and the rest of the photo will be slightly blurred. I can also try taking the pictures with a disposable camera, if I want a more personal feel.

About Katlyn Slough

I am an undergraduate student at Rowan University, currently studying Creative Writing and Rhetoric. It is my ultimate goal to write for a living, no matter how I wind up writing. For this blog, I'll be looking at the visual components and aesthetics of movie posters.

One comment

  1. Hi Kat,

    Your topic is fine, though I wonder if you are too closely exploring the same topic as in your mashup. There’s nothing inherently wrong with that, especially if it interests you, though I wonder if you might be able to push yourself into a new issue. You don’t need to, but if you find that you want to, that is okay with me. The focus on body language is quite interesting.

    If you stay with this topic, you’ll want to look into some of the ethical issues surrounding photographing people in public spaces—both with their knowledge and without their knowledge.

    Be aware, too, that in the spaces you mention, the lights will be dim in the audience and any photo you take will need to be very close to the subjects because flash won’t work. And, flash isn’t great to use, in general. So, you’ll need to rethink the settings a bit.

    If you decide to change, let me know. If not, enjoy it!

    BW

Leave a Reply

