Fallow: A Photo Essay

fallow

For my photo essay, I will be using option one of the assignment for class and gathering 12-15 individual photographs on a theme. My essay is dubbed Fallow, and will be a look at my hometown. This essay will be sort of in the style of The Ruins of Detroit.

My hometown of Riverside is a slightly (though nowhere near the same scale) situation. In Riverside, much has been torn down to make may for new business ventures–yet most of it left undeveloped for years (or forever) as money or interest dry up.  I’m interested in the topic because, obviously, it is my home.

My goal for each photograph is to either match it with the structure that stood there, or else write what stood, and what was/is planned to go there (possibly, how long it has stood undeveloped). This is a big part of why I chose the topic, as many of the demolished structures were large parts of the town’s history.

I will be using a digital camera, and hopefully using some sort of software to layer in what stood over the current situation of the land to create a juxtaposition and to kind of capture a sense of loss in my final essay. If, for any reason–professor vetoes the topic, can’t find software or can’t figure out the manipulation–I plan on using a disposable camera to take the same pictures of the spaces as they exist, and then mess with the developed pictures to degrade them in an attempt to question why something in perfectly fine shape/not hurting anyone would be degraded, as a sort of metaphor for the actual spaces.

One comment

  1. Tom,

    This is an interesting topic (it reminds me of your Core 2 project).

    I really like the idea of using a disposable camera, as the disposable metaphor works quite well (maybe even more than “fallow”), and especially your idea to “mess” with the results. Rather than messing with the developed pictures, you might mess with the negatives by burning, scratching, writing on, and so on. You might look up what people do with physically manipulated negatives. Lots of cool stuff out there that could also enhance the metaphor you’re looking for.

    Looking forward to what you create!

    BW

Leave a Reply

