Mapping Rowan University

Over the last month or so, I have been studying the rhetoric of maps and breaking down the general assumptions that seem to cloud maps: that a culture craves accuracy or that a map (and the map reader) should have one particular goal when approaching a map. With my semiotic and mapping analysis in tow, below is five different maps of the main campus of Rowan University located in Glassboro, NJ. Don’t expect to see sketches of buildings or bus stops here: I decided to map out moments in time: when/where students are walking across the campus and where the graduation commencement is held

These maps also represent the individual who is using this map, so I decided to take that idea a step further and stamp out my personal connection to this campus. The hope is another Rowan University student, using the same legend, can recreate their own trail or create their own map transcript with a completely different result.

I hope you enjoy this literal and figurative journey through Rowan University:

Personalizing Rowan University by Christina Maxwell

About Christina Maxwell

I’m a young professional journalist with a dual B.A. degree in Radio-TV-Film and Journalism and I am currently working on my M.A. in Writing, specializing in Journalism and New Media Studies (both at Rowan University). Although my advanced degree allows me to have options in the future, for now, my main goal is finding a job in journalism. I am a journalist at heart. First hand knowledge, original reporting and precisive answers are what I strive for when I'm working. For the past two years, I have done freelance reporting with the Gloucester Township Patch, but my goal is to have a sustainable, consistent job in journalism.

Leave a Reply

